bugishere

Solution of Grub Loader : Error 15 (File Not Found)

Posted on: January 12, 2011

Ok.. With me, Panteng… Nice to meet you all againt

This posting id referred to all ubuntu and backtrack end-users. I will share my experience with linux grub loader problem. When I have finished install backtrack 4 R1 in my laptop, I’m so very happy because I can use backtrack againt after my laptop has been broken. 😀

But I have one problem with Grub Loader, when I choose my Ubuntu OS in Grub Loader, there is message from my monitor like this :

Error 15 : File Not Found

Press any key to continue ….

The effect of this problem is you can’t enter in your Ubuntu OS, and you can only enter in Backtrack OS. So what do you think if in your Ubuntu OS is better important than Backtrack OS ???  or in your Ubuntu OS there are many programming projects, what do you feel ??? I think you are so annoyed. So what is the solution of this problem…. Ok, try these steps, one by one…

1. Because I couldn’t access my Ubuntu OS, so first I enter in my Ubuntu Live CD, for other session,I have tryed login first in Backtrack 4 OS and the I was successfully repair my Grub Loader. And then I open the  terminal from Live CD Installer

2. Type in your terminal : sudo fdisk -l

3. So there is list of your partition. Like this :

Device Boot      Start            End        Blocks                Id  System
/dev/sda1   *           1               9178    73722253+       7  HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda2            9179         28302    153600000      7  HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda3           28303       38913    85232857+      5  Extended
/dev/sda5           28303       28788   3903732         82  Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda6           28789       33651    39062016       83  Linux
/dev/sda7           33652       38913    42266983+     83  Linux

4. type in terminal : sudo mount /dev/sdXX /mnt >> Example: sudo mount /dev/sda6 /mnt (sda6 is my ubuntu OS’s root partition)

5. Mount the critical virtual filesystems:

sudo mount --bind /dev  /mnt/dev
sudo mount --bind /dev/pts  /mnt/dev/pts
sudo mount --bind /proc /mnt/proc
sudo mount --bind /sys  /mnt/sys

6. Chroot into your normal system device:

sudo chroot /mnt

7. Now time for install GRUB 2 in terminal. Why? because the previous loader of ubuntu is deleted by backtrack 4 so, type this command in terminal :

grub-install /dev/sdX , ex : grub-install /dev/sda

Verify the install (use the correct device, for example sda. Do not specify a partition): sudo grub-install --recheck /dev/sdX , ex : sudo grub-install --recheck /dev/sda

Exit chroot: CTRL-D on keyboard

8. Unmount virtual filesystems:

sudo umount /mnt/dev/pts
sudo umount /mnt/dev
sudo umount /mnt/proc
sudo umount /mnt/sys

9. Unmount the LiveCD’s /usr directory : sudo umount /mnt/usr and Unmount last device : sudo umount /mnt

10. Reboot.

sudo reboot

Let see your Grub Loader, and now you can enter to your Ubuntu OS. 😀

Leave a comment

Page

Categories